Monday, 03 March 2014 11:59

Where to Watch and Follow the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games - Broadcast Schedules, Updates, Hangouts and Social Media

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

 

US Broadcast Schedule

In the United States, NBC & NBC Sports Network will be carrying several events live, which means overnight broadcasts for events like alpine and cross country skiing, snowboarding and curling. There are several recap shows scheduled during midday hours, which will hopefully grab a wider audience. And the sled hockey final - which could well be another USA vs Canada showdown - will air Saturday 3/15 at 1:00pm EST/10:00am PST. Here's the full NBC US broadcast schedule:

Date Coverage Network Time
Fri 3/07 Opening Ceremony (LIVE) NBC 11:00am EST / 8:00am PST
Sat 3/08 Alpine Skiing - Downhill (LIVE) NBCSN 1:00am EST / 10:00pm PST (3/07)*

Opening Ceremony NBC 1:00pm EST / 10:00am PST

Day 1 Recap NBCSN 5:30pm EST / 2:30pm PST
Sun 3/09 Cross-Country Skiing (LIVE) NBCSN 1:00am EST / 10:00pm PST (3/08)*

Day 2 Recap NBCSN 11:00pm EST / 8:00pm PST
Mon 3/10 Alpine Skiing - Super G (LIVE) NBCSN 2:00am EST / 11:00pm PST (3/09)*

Day 3 Recap NBCSN 12:00pm EST / 9:00am PST
Tue 3/11 Biathlon (LIVE) NBCSN 2:00am EST / 11:00pm PST (3/10)*

Sled Hockey - USA vs Russia NBCSN 3:00pm EST / 12:00pm PST
Wed 3/12 Wheelchair Curling - USA vs China NBCSN 1:30am EST / 10:30pm PST (3/11)*

Day 5 Recap NBCSN 3:00pm EST / 12:00pm PST
Thur 3/13 Sled Hockey - Semifinal 1 (LIVE) NBCSN 5:00am EST / 2:00am PST

Sled Hockey - Semifinal 2 (LIVE) NBCSN 12:00pm EST / 9:00am PST
Fri 3/14 Snowboarding NBCSN 3:00am EST / 12:00am PST

Day 7 Recap NBCSN 11:30pm EST / 8:30pm PST
Sat 3/15 Cross-Country Skiing (LIVE) NBCSN 3:30am EST / 12:30am PST

Sled Hockey - Gold Medal NBC 1:00pm EST / 10:00am PST

Wheelchair Curling - Gold Medal NBCSN 6:30pm EST / 3:30pm PST
Sun 3/16 Alpine Skiing - Giant Slalom (LIVE) NBCSN 4:30am EST / 1:30am PST

Closing Ceremony NBCSN 3:30pm EST / 12:30pm PST
Sat 3/22 Paralympic Games Review Show NBC 1:00pm EST / 10:00am PST

 

*Note for Pacific Time Zone viewers: On a few of the live broadcasts, the on-air time begins the night before and carries past midnight

 

Canadian Broadcast Schedule

For Canadian viewers, 300 hours of coverage is planned, split across several networks including CBC, AMI-TV, Sportsnet, Radio Canada and live streams on the CBC.ca website. In addition, AMI-TV will be showing episodes of Sports Access and Milestones of Champions, profiling Canadian Paralympic Athletes and the growth of Adaptive Sports throughout the country.

 

See the full Canadian Broadcast schedule here: http://paralympic.ca/node/3101

 

Live Streaming of Events

For those who want to see full coverage of the events, the IPC will be streaming everything via the web at https://www.youtube.com/user/ParalympicSportTV/featured (Note: There may be restrictions by country and service provider).

 

US Paralympics will have live streams of several venues/events at http://www.teamusa.org/Sochi-Paralympic-Winter-Games-Live

 

The Canadian Paralympic Committee will have a dedicated live stream at http://paralympic.ca/live-stream


The IPC will also be hosting Google Hangouts with many of the athletes from around the world, including Team USA snowboarders Amy Purdy and Evan Strong. Get the full details here.
http://www.paralympic.org/news/ipc-host-daily-google-hangouts-athletes-during-sochi-2014


Social Media Feeds


Team USA fans can follow all of the action at:
Official Paralympic Team Website http://www.teamusa.org/US-Paralympics.aspx
Twitter http://twitter.com/USParalympics
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/usparalympics
YouTube http://www.youtube.com/user/teamusa

 

Follow Team Canada and all of their athletes at:
Official Paralympic Team Website http://paralympic.ca/sochi-2014
Twitter http://twitter.com/CDNParalympics
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/CDNParalympics
YouTube http://www.youtube.com/user/CDNParalympics

 

And for the full international experience of the games, the International Paralympic Committee will be sharing everything at:
Official IPC Website http://www.paralympic.org/sochi-2014
Twitter http://twitter.com/Paralympic
Facebook http://www.facebook.com/ParalympicGames
Youtube http://www.youtube.com/user/ParalympicSportTV

 

Sponsors & Advertisers

Sponsors are also ramping up their efforts this week, including this great new spot from IPC global partner Samsung, "Sport Doesn't Care"

 

 

With the momentum generated from the London 2012 Paralympics, we expect this to be another significant point in time for adaptive sports and athletes with disabilities.


Tune in, log on, watch and share as the world's best athletes go for gold in Sochi!

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn
Read 1295 times Last modified on Thursday, 08 September 2016 12:10

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Directory Search


Reset